...and Connecticut wonders why people are leaving the state in droves

Oh Good Jesus Almighty

Milford Parents Object To End Of School Halloween Parades

Associated Press

Milford public schools cancel Halloween activities, prompting petition from angry parents

MILFORD — Some parents of children in Milford's public schools are outraged that the annual Halloween costume parades at the city's elementary schools have been canceled this year.

Victoria Johannsen, mother of a third-grader at Live Oaks School, tells the Connecticut Post (http://bit.ly/1MrD0mY ) she heard about the decision in a letter last week from the principal.

The letter said the cancelations "arose out of numerous incidents of children being excluded from activities due to religion, cultural beliefs, etc."

Johannsen says although she respects other people's beliefs, the decision isn't fair to students who cherish the parade.

An online petition has been started asking the school district to restore the parades.
In addition to canceling the parades, the district is forbidding students and staff to wear Halloween costumes.



Meet the Board Members (2013-2015)

First District


Mr. John DeRosa (R)
Minority Leader

65 Green Meadow Rd. (06461)
(203) 783-9558
jderosa2@milforded.org

Mr. Mike DeGrego (R)

1089 West River Street (06461)
(203) 878-0410
mdegrego@milforded.org

Second District


Mrs. Jennifer Federico (D)
14 Breakneck Lane (06460)
(203) 878-2288
jfederico@milforded.org
 



Ms. Susan Glennon (D)
Board Chair
99 Carlson Drive (06460)
(203) 878-1846
sglennon@milforded.org

Third District

Photo Unavailable








Mr. C. Robert Satti, Jr.  (D)
255 1st Avenue (06460)(203) 878-9748rsatti@milforded.org

Mr. Anthony Piselli (R)

17 Janet Street (06460)
(203) 283-5154
apiselli@milforded.org

Fourth District


Dr. Heidi Gold-Dworkin (D)
201 Kings Highway (06460)
(203) 874-1852
hgdworkin@milforded.org

Mr. Earl Whiskeyman (D)
27 Mark Street (06460)
(203) 877-4486
ewhiskeyman@milforded.org

Fifth District


Ms. Suzanne DiBiase (R)
77 Lindy Street (06460)
(203) 878-1049
sdibiase@milforded.org

Mrs. Claire Casey (D)86 Governors Avenue (06460)(203) 876-9717ccasey@milforded.org